The project

Imagine walking on the roof of your home or office building in the middle of the city, harvesting herbs, fresh vegetables and salad from your raised beds. These ingredients then land directly on your plate: regional, seasonal, sustainable. Roofs as producers of electricity, food and a good urban climate, the experts from LIFE, the Center for Climate, Energy and Society of JOANNEUM RESEARCH, together with partners from business, science and the education sector, are working on a best-practice Example for the sustainable use of roof gardens to develop.

image/svg+xml32145678910111213141516171819 HANS HÖLLWART BELLAFLORA LV steir. GEMÜSEBAUERN JOANNEUM RESEARCH LIFE FS SILBERBERG FS GROSSWILFERSDORF FS GROTTENHOF FS ST. MARTIN
Tap me 🙂

„Roofs in the city of the future have three important additional functions: cool city, produce food and produce electricity. The Science Tower is the first building in Austria to show a symbiosis of these three functions. To operate this sustainable food production on urban roof surfaces is the integrative solution for cities to adapt to climate change"

Franz Prettenthaler

Director, Joanneum Research - LIFE

The Goal

The use of urban rooftops is increasing worldwide and is becoming increasingly important as land resources become scarcer. The concept of producing food in the immediate vicinity of the urban population brings more popular consent to locally produced food, in addition to short transport routes and the positive effect on the microclimate in the city. In high-quality substrate crops for food production are grown to explore which components are required for sustainable, professionalized food production on rooftops.

Our Patches at the Science Tower

1 - BELLAFLORA GENUSS-OASE 1

Bellaflora

2 - URBAN LIFE

JOANNEUM RESEARCH - LIFE

3 - GROWI- ng high in the sky

Großwilfersdorf

4 - Regionale Spezialitäten

Landesverband steirische Gemüsebauern

5 - LIFE STYLE

JOANNEUM RESEARCH - LIFE

6 - Beet - hoven

Grottenhof

7 - BELLAFLORA GENUSS-OASE 2

Bellaflora

8 - BELLAFLORA GENUSS-OASE 3

Bellaflora

9 - Tradition & Herkunftsschutz

Landesverband steirische Gemüsebauern

10 - LIFE@RISK

JOANNEUM RESEARCH - LIFE

11 - ENERGETIC LIFE

JOANNEUM RESEARCH - LIFE

12 - LIFE POLICY&ECONOMICS

JOANNEUM RESEARCH - LIFE

13 - LIFE -BERRIES

JOANNEUM RESEARCH - LIFE

14 - Sil-berries

FS Silberberg

15 - Saisonale Köstlichkeiten

Landesverband steirische Gemüsebauern

16 - Science for Life

Hans Höllwart

17 - Kräuterkraft

FS St. Martin

18 - Frische Überraschungen

Landesverband steirische Gemüsebauern

19 - BELLAFLORA GENUSS-OASE 4

Bellaflora

Partner and Supporter

Partner

Supporter

Neuigkeiten

Begleiten Sie unsere Partner durch den Garten

 

FS Grottenhof, SFL Engineering, Steirische Gemüsebauern und Bellaflora über ihr Beet im Smart City Rooftop Garten

Energy Globe für Smart City Rooftop Farming

Energy Globe Award für Smart City Rooftop Farming (v.l.n.r.)
Dr.in Sabine Marx, Mag. Michael Kernitzky, Hannes Pregartner,
Mag. Dr. Franz Prettenthaler, M.Litt (JOANNEUM RESEARCH LIFE)
©Manuela Schwarzl-JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Interactive Graz Rooftop Visit

JR LIFE ist Projektpartner im Horizon 2020 Projekt REGREEN.
Im Rahmen eines von LIFE organisierten Treffens der Projektpartner wird auch das Smart City Rooftop Framing Projekt vorgestellt.
Datum: 5.3.2021, Zeit: 10:00-10:45 Uhr
Online-Zugang: https://zoom.us/j/7106291965

Das Projekt

Stellen Sie sich vor:  Sie gehen auf das Dach Ihres Wohn- oder Bürohauses mitten in der Stadt, ernten Kräuter, frisches Gemüse und Salat von Ihren Hochbeeten. Diese Zutaten landen dann direkt auf Ihrem Teller: regional, saisonal, nachhaltig. Dächer als Produzenten von Strom, Nahrung und gutem Stadtklima, an dieser Vision forschen die Expertinnen und Experten von LIFE, dem Institut für Klima, Energie und Gesellschaft der JOANNEUM RESEARCH, gemeinsam mit Partnern aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und dem Bildungsbereich, um ein Best-Practice-Beispiel für die nachhaltige Nutzung von Dachgärten zu entwickeln.

image/svg+xml 3 2 1 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 KE-LAB HANS HÖLLWART BELLAFLORA LV steir. GEMÜSEBAUERN JOANNEUM RESEARCH LIFE FS SILBERBERG FS GROSSWILFERSDORF FS GROTTENHOF FS ST. MARTIN
Klick mich 🙂

„Dächer in der Stadt der Zukunft haben drei wichtige zusätzliche Funktionen: Stadt kühlen, Lebensmittel und Strom produzieren. Der Science Tower ist das erste Gebäude in Österreich, wo eine Symbiose dieser drei Funktionen gezeigt wird. Diese nachhaltige Nahrungsmittelproduktion auf urbanen Dachflächen zu betreiben ist der integrative Lösungsansatz für Städte zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel"

Franz Prettenthaler

Direktor, Joanneum Research - LIFE

Das Ziel

Die Nutzung urbaner Dachflächen nimmt weltweit zu und wird mit steigender Knappheit der Landressourcen immer bedeutsamer.  Das Konzept in unmittelbarer Nähe der städtischen Bevölkerung Lebensmittel zu produzieren, bringt neben kurzen Transportwegen und dem positiven Effekt auf das Mikroklima in der Stadt auch mehr Zustimmung der Bevölkerung zu lokal produzierten Nahrungsmitteln.  In hochwertigem Substrat werden Nutzpflanzen zur Lebensmittelgewinnung angebaut, um zu erforschen, welche Komponenten für eine nachhaltige, professionalisierte Lebensmittelproduktion auf Dachflächen erforderlich sind.

Unsere Beete am Science Tower

1 - BELLAFLORA GENUSS-OASE 1

Bellaflora

2 - URBAN LIFE

JOANNEUM RESEARCH - LIFE

3 - GROWI- ng high in the sky

Großwilfersdorf

Partner und Unterstützer

Partner

Unterstützer